top of page

A Journey To Japan -- Sleepless day pt. 2

Updated: Sep 17, 2020

I've decided to write according to the days I was there. My flight was on the 19th February around 11pm but we were required to be there at 6pm. Yes, it was early but very well calculated. I forgot to mention, this program to Japan included other Departments across all the campuses of our university. There was 10 of us, not including our lecturer, Dr HIdayah -- Madam. Two from each department and we've never met each other. And some of us have never been overseas so there were some luggage problems.


It took a while but everything was fine, eventually. Oh and I arrived at exactly 6pm. My mum dropped me off. There was no special goodbyes' or hugs'. Slightly bummed. Her daughter was going to an unknown country here, she could at least try and be concerned. But then again, her daughter is 23 years old. Oh well....


We went to check in our bags and there was also another issue. One of the participants brought an oversized bag so we had to go to this special place for oversized bags at the end of KLIA2. You'll understand what I'm talking about if you've been there. I was already tired of standing so I just sat on the trolleys while someone pushed me around. After that, we went to eat. I was hungry. Super hungry. We ended up eating at Wendy's. It was nice getting to know everyone before actually going to Japan.


So we went through security and everything. Now, we're on the 5 hour flight to Fukuoka, Japan. It was late. I was tired. I was supposed to sleep, right? HA HA HA. Nope. There was a kid who decided he wanted to cry all night. And when people say that on flights you need to hydrate, they weren't kidding. HYRDRATE. I felt my nose literally dry up. (I had the flu before, so a dry nose was weird) I was so uncomfortable. I didn't catch a wink of sleep. AT ALL.


Oh cool thing was, we performed our Subuh prayer on the flight. It was kinda cool. I can't remember a flight long enough that I had to perform any prayers but yeah, me and my seat partner performed prayer together. Then we landed. Greeted by Mr Okano -- Okano-san and Yukiko-san. I keep forgetting the other professor's name. I'll look it up soon. Promise. Remind me? Urgh, I hate myself. But.i called him sensei.


They gave us like 15 minutes to freshen up. And so, I changed shirts. Brushed my teeth. Washed my face. Ate an onigiri. In exactly 15 minutes, I was there waiting for the boys. The few things I'm afraid of before going to Japan -- being late. I tend to be very late. Trust me. Wait, I take that back. I'm not always. I just have my moods.


We were then of to Kyushu University. One of the biggest university in Japan.


to be continued.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Surrender - COVID-19 Short Story

The clock struck 4 in the morning and I couldn’t go back to sleep. My mind kept racing and I have been having a uncomfortable stomachache. Must have been what I ate for dinner. I decided to pull mysel

To be heard.

As I sit here today, contemplating the things I've done up to my age as a typical 22 years old girl. I have no idea what I've accomplished that distinguishes me compared to other people. Everything I'

bottom of page