top of page

A Journey To Japan pt. 1

A little while back I was chosen to represent my department -- Biotechnology Department, to partake in a program to Fukuoka, Japan. I still remember sitting in bed and getting the message from my classmates. To be honest, I filled the form because I couldn't sleep. I remember just waking up in the middle of the night and typing my answers to the Google Form. I tried my best to write something that made sense because it was 2 in the morning and I didn't know if I was making much sense. Oh well...


I got a notification about receiving an email from Dr Zakwan. He was one of the lecturers in charge to pick the students going. So, he initially emailed me but then decided to send me a message about being short-listed for an interview. I can't stress enough how panicked I was for the interview. It's been so long since I was interviewed. But alhamdulilah, Dr Zakwan made it so comfortable. I wasn't in much pressure at all. Dr Mardiana was also there. I was scared of both of them since I have never learnt from Dr Zakwan and Dr Mardiana was the head of the department. So obviously I was amongst the best.


It took so long until I figured out that I was going to Japan. Since Dr Zakwan and Dr Mardiana were both teaching me that semester, I was always at the edge of my seat during classes to know whether they'd mention it or not. But, alas I found out when the Program Manager contacted me personally to ask for my passport number. I thought it was a scam.



'Know know' I went to Japan! To be specific I travelled around the Kyushu Island. Now, it wasn't a vacation or anything, it was an exchange program where they shared how they managed the Chikugo River.






I'll be posting about that soon -- the more academic post needs a lot of time to write. I can't just wing it, am I right? I promise I'll try to post it soon. I repeat, TRY. So please be patient, hehe.



41 views0 comments
bottom of page